Select Page


Governor Jay Nixon recently presented a proclamation declaring April as Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Month in Missouri.  Over forty individuals joined the Governor in his Capitol office for the ceremony including Representatives from the Missouri House, division directors, child advocates, board members, service providers, and several children.  Many individuals present were members of the Missouri Prevention Partners (MPP) Coalition, a consortium of agencies, organizations and individuals who meet and work together throughout the year to raise awareness about prevention and to develop a state prevention plan.

Pictured with Governor Nixon include members of the Missouri Prevention Partners Coalition:
Children's Trust Fund (CTF) – Kirk Schreiber, Paula Cunningham with Board Members – Sam Burton, Lynne Cooper, Peggy Krokstrom (Alex & Sarah Krokstrom), Dena Ladd, Rep. Mike McGhee, Patrice Mugg (Grace & Hannah Mugg), Rep. Rachel Storch, Tom Vansaghi
Green Hills Community Action Agency (GHCAA) – Cheryl Leffler, Scott Long
Kids Hope United – Regina Thompson
Missouri Child Care Resource Referral Network (MCCRRN) – Carol Scott
Missouri Coalition of Children’s Agencies (MCCA) – Carmen Schulze
Missouri Dept. of Corrections (DOC) – Jeananne Markway
Missouri Dept. of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE)- Lori Niekamp
Missouri Dept. of Health and Senior Services (DHSS) – Sharmini Rogers, Mary List
Missouri Dept. of Mental Health (DMH) – Dottie Mullikin
Missouri Dept. of Public Safety (DPS) – Sandy Rempe
Missouri Dept. of Social Services (DSS) – Paula Neese
State Technical Assistance Team (STAT) – Rodney Jones, Maurine Hill, Skip McGuire
Missouri Juvenile Justice Association (MJJA) – Vivian Murphy
Missouri KidsFirst (MKF)/Prevent Child Abuse Missouri (PCAM) – Jay Wood, Rebecca Gordon Janie Bakutes with Board Members Emmy McClelland, B.T. Rice
Office of Child Advocate (OCA) – Steve Morrow, Liz Beasley, Carolyn Swanigan
ParentLink – Carol Mertensmeyer, Megan Roodhouse
Practical Parenting Partnerships (PPP) – Janet Shepard
Representative Rick Stream
Dahna Willis
Mahmood Khan