Select Page

CTF Chair Award recipient Regina Staves, Ph.D. (C), pictured with CTF Executive Director Kirk Schreiber (L) and CTF Outgoing Chair Tom Vansaghi, Ph.D., (R)

Children’s Trust Fund (CTF) Board member, Regina ‘Gina’ Staves, Ph.D., Kansas City, is the 2013 recipient of the CTF Chair Award in recognition of her outstanding service on the Board and in the field of prevention. The award was presented by outgoing Chair Tom Vansaghi, Ph.D., at the CTF Board of Directors meeting October 17 in Jefferson City.

“Gina fully embodies all of the characteristics that this award stands for – dedication, commitment and service,” said Vansaghi.  “She is a consistent positive voice and supportive advocate for Missouri’s children, as well as for those who work on behalf of Missouri’s kids. She continues to be a personal source of inspiration, encouragement and motivation to CTF staff, Board members and other child advocates,” Vansaghi continued.

Staves was originally appointed to the Board by Governor Bob Holden in 2004 and was later reappointed by Governor Jay Nixon. She is currently Assistant Professor in the Psychology Department at Avila University. She was previously in private practice specializing in attachment, stress, psychological trauma, abuse, neglect and childhood behavioral problems.  Staves served as the CTF Chair from 2007-2009, and has worked over the last 9 years on various CTF projects including assisting with the development of public education materials, sharing her expertise, and being a trainer/presenter.  She also worked with the National Alliance of Children’s Trust & Prevention Funds on their publication – Preventing Child Neglect & Promoting Child Well Being.

“We are deeply grateful to Dr. Staves for her ongoing support, commitment and leadership with moving CTF forward and for sharing our vision of Strong Families, Safe Kids,” said CTF Executive Director Kirk Schreiber.

The CTF Chair Award was established in 2002 by the late Richard “Dick” Dunn, former CTF Chair, as a way for the chair to recognize a person or organization exhibiting outstanding service, advocacy and volunteer work on behalf of CTF.