Select Page

Regina Staves, Ph.D., of Kansas City was elected chair of the Children’s Trust Fund (CTF) Board of Directors during its annual fall meeting October 2007. She has served on the Board since 2004.  Dr. Staves is an Assistant Professor and Director of Graduate Psychology at Avila University in Kansas City.   She is also a licensed mental health counselor specializing in psychological trauma and attachment in children and adults.  Her interests include child development, specifically emotional and brain development, and she is also involved in educating the community about the positive individual and societal effects of restorative justice.

Dr. Staves – "As a child and family therapist, educator and child advocate, I am grateful for the opportunity to chair the Children’s Trust Fund Board.  It is highly rewarding to work with the CTF staff and board members, who are geninuely dedicated to keeping children safe and preventing child abuse and neglect.  It is my hope over the next two years to further promote the awareness of child abuse prevention across our state and to increase advocacy efforts in keeping all of Missouri’s children safe from abuse."

Staves replaced outgoing chair Nanci Bobrow, Ph.D, who is a licensed psychologist and a certified health service provider.

Patrice O’Neil Mugg of Kirkwood, who has been a Board member since 2005, was elected chair elect and will succeed Staves as chair in October 2009.  She is a former teacher certified in special education and is active with the Kirkwood School District Foundation, Greentree Community Church Mentoring program, Missouri Baptist Children’s Home, and North Kirkwood Middle School PTO.